Wednesday, June 10, 2015

India: National Academy of Agricultural Sciences honors IRRI officials

Robert Zeigler, director general of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) and Arvind Kumar, IRRI senior scientist, were admitted to the Fellowship of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences. Both scientists have been elected to the Fellowship in recognition of their significant contributions to the agricultural sciences in India.

Dr. Kumar received the Fellowship citation and Certificate of the Academy at the ceremony held on 5 June in New Delhi while Dr. Zeigler was admitted in absentia. Prof. M.S. Swaminathan, founding president of the Academy and former IRRI director general (1982-1988), presented the awards.

Vijaya Kumar Marthi, manager-Liaison and Coordination) at the IRRI office in India was also recognized at the Silver jubilee celebration of the Academy. Dr. Marthi was cited for his services rendered to the Academy in various capacities including the head of the Academy secretariat from 2002 to 2008.

Among the guests at the event included Dr. S. Ayyappan, current president of the Academy and a member of the IRRI Board of Trustees, and Prof. R.B. Singh and Prof. V.Ll Chopra, both past presidents of the Academy.

The National Academy of Agricultural Sciences provides scientists with a forum to deliberate on important issues of agricultural research, education and extension, and to present views of the scientific community to policy planners and decision makers at various levels.

Learn more about IRRI ( or follow us on the social media and networks (all links down the right column).

No comments:

Post a Comment