Monday, April 6, 2015

Philippines: Department of Agriculture recognizes 2014 top rice-producing provinces

 The Department of Agriculture (DA) honored the 10 outstanding provinces for their invaluable contribution to the national rice production output at the 2014 Agri-Pinoy Rice Achievers Awards (APRAA).

This year’s awardees were Pangasinan, Isabela, Nueva Ecija, Bataan, Bulacan, Tarlac, Bukidnon, Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental, and Davao del Sur.  In addition to plaques these provinces received PHP 4 million each.

Aurora, Pampanga, Mindoro Oriental, and Zamboanga del Sur were also cited for their significant contribution to the increased production of the country’s staple food and were awarded PHP 200,000 each.

The winners in other categories are:

Outstanding municipalities and cities (PHP 1 million each in cash prize)

San Marcela, Apayao
Vintar, Ilocos Norte
Cabatuan, Isabela
Bustos, Bulacan
Calamba City, Laguna
Calintaan, Occidental Mindoro
Castilla, Sorsogon
San Enrique, Iloilo
Bayawan City, Negros Occidental
Caibiran, Biliran
Labangan, Zamboanga del Sur
Lala, Lanao del Norte
Banay-banay, Davao Oriental
Koronadal City, South Cotabato
Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur

Outstanding irrigators’ associations (PHP 1 million each)
San Isidro Farmer Irrigators’ Association, Inc., Carmen, Davao del Norte
Bacnor Irrigators’ Association, Inc., Burgos, Isabela
Patag-Corona Irrigators’ Association, Inc., Maramag, Bukidnon
Bulacanon Irrigators’ Association, Inc., Makilala, Cotabato
Albatana Blucon Malabis Irrigators’ Association, Inc., Magsaysay, Davao del Sur

Outstanding small water impounding systems associations (PHP P500,000 each)
Western Alcala Farmer Irrigators’ Cooperative, Alcala, Cagayan
Barangay Sibariwan Small Irrigators’ Association, Inc., Dumarao, Capiz
San Jose Norala Communal Irrigators’ Association from Norala, South Cotabato

APRAA is an annual event organized by the DA-National Rice Program to recognize outstanding provinces, municipalities and cities, irrigators’ associations, small water impounding systems associations, agricultural extension workers, and local farmer technicians for their contributions to the rice industry. The program aims to encourage the full participation of local government units and other stakeholders in rice production, and to sustain their awareness, support, and commitment to attain rice self-sufficiency.

Mr. Julian A. Lapitan, head of the Partnerships Office of the International Rice Research Institute was among the guests at the event. The 2014 Agri-Pinoy Rice Achievers Awards ceremony was held on 26 March at Resorts World Manila, Pasay City.

In 2014, the Philippine rice industry performed well, reaching a national production all-time high of 18.97 million metric tons. The 2.87% production growth exceeded the previous year’s record by 528,406 million tons. The boost in production is attributed to the 3% improvement in the average yield per hectare, which increased from 3.89 million tons per hectare in 2013 to 4 million tons per hectare in 2014.

Learn more about IRRI ( or follow us on the social media and networks (all links down the right column).

No comments:

Post a Comment