Tuesday, March 19, 2013

IRRI staff honored by Philippine crop scientists

Achim Dobermann, deputy director general for research, was given an Honorary Fellow Award by the Crop Science Society of the Philippines (CSSP) during the 22nd Scientific Conference of the Federation of Crop Science Societies of the Philippines.

Dr. Dobermann was cited for his valuable contribution to rice research and development and to food self-sufficiency efforts of the Philippine government. Julian Lapitan, head of IRRI's National Program Relations, received the award on Dr. Dobermann's behalf.

Evangelina Salcedo-Ella, IRRI associate scientist, received the CSSP Achievement Award for Research for her contribution to the understanding of the physiology and genetics of flood tolerance in rice.

Ramon Oliveros, executive assistant to IRRI's deputy director general for communication and partnerships, was elected president of the CSSP for 2013-14. Other IRRI staff who were elected for the same period were Ma. Rebecca C. Laza as secretary and Reneeliza Jean Melgar as board member.

The conference was held at Cagayan de Oro City on 11-16 March 2013.

Learn more about IRRI (www.irri.org) or follow us on the social media and networks (all links down the right column).

No comments:

Post a Comment